**Township of Southgate** Administration Office

185667 Grey Road 9, RR 1 Dundalk, ON NOC 1B0



Phone: 519-923-2110 Toll Free: 1-888-560-6607 Fax: 519-923-9262 Web: www.southgate.ca

# Staff Report CL2021-012

Title of Report:CL2021-012-CommunitySafetyandPolicingAct,2019 - UpdateDepartment:ClerksBranch:Legislative and Council ServicesCouncil Date:May 5, 2021

## **Recommendation:**

**Be it resolved that** Council receive Staff Report CL2021-012 as information; and **That** Council discuss the amendments to the existing Section 10 and 5.1 Board structures under the Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019.

#### Background:

On March 26, 2019, Ontario passed the *Comprehensive Ontario Police Services Act, 2019* (Bill 68) and established the *Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019* (CSPA, 2019), which once proclaimed, will repeal the *Police Services Act, 1990*.

In February 2020, the Ministry of the Solicitor General conducted seven regional roundtable sessions across the province. Discussions at these sessions focused on new OPP-related regulatory requirements under the CSPA, including dissolution of Section 10 and 5.1 Boards.

#### **Staff Comments:**

On March 18, 2021, staff received correspondence from the Ministry of the Solicitor General, outlining amendments to existing Section 10 and 5.1 Board structures as a result of the CSPA. Specifically, the CSPA will dissolve all existing Section 10 and 5.1 Boards, to create one joint Board per detachment. This correspondence was received by Council for information at the April 7, 2021 regular meeting of Council under Correspondence Consent and can be viewed <u>here</u>.

In considering Section 10 and 5.1 Boards, the Solicitor General is requesting that detachment municipalities and First Nations work collaboratively to create one joint Board to replace single Municipal and First Nations Boards. Applying this model to Grey Bruce would therefore result in one joint Board representing all Section 10 and 5.1 municipalities, including: Township of Southgate, Township of Georgian Bluffs, Township of Chatsworth, Municipality of Meaford, Municipality of Grey Highlands, Town of South Bruce Peninsula and Town of North Bruce Peninsula, and the Saugeen First Nation.

The Saugeen First Nation, should they choose to, have the option to opt-out of participation in the joint Board. To date, no intention to this effect has been communicated.

The CSPA permits creation of more than one Board, where necessary. Should this be determined as a beneficial option in Grey Bruce, the proposal must provide justification for multiple Boards by considering:

- Geography (e.g. distance between municipalities and First Nations),
- Variations in population size,
- The number of municipalities and First Nations within an OPP detachment; and
- Service demands (e.g. calls for service).

Per the correspondence received from the Solicitor General, the joint Board is expected to be composed of a minimum of five members, with 20% community representatives and 20% provincial appointees. Unlike the existing requirements of the *Police Services Act, 1990*, the Mayor of each municipality is not a mandated member of the joint Board.

In 2019, the Township of Southgate renewed the Section 10 servicing agreement with the Ontario Provincial Police service. Upon proclamation of the *Community Safety and Policing Act, 2019*, all in effect Section 10 servicing contracts will be nullified. All municipalities will automatically be serviced by the Ontario Provincial Police service, free of an agreement, unless they have adopted another method of policing (e.g. regional policing services). At this time, there are no anticipated significant changes to billing structures, being that municipalities will continue to be billed individually, not jointly as a detachment.

On April 27, 2021, staff participated in a meeting with all lower tier detachment municipalities, Saugeen First Nation, and the Grey Bruce Detachment Commander to initiate discussions. A proposal indicating as follows, is required to be submitted to the Solicitor General by June 7, 2021:

- Number of seats on the joint Board to be held by each municipality,
- Number of community appointees, and
- Number of provincial appointees.

Should the detachment fail to submit a proposal by the June 7, 2021 deadline, the Ministry will assign a Board structure of their choosing.

Staff are currently working collaboratively with the lower tiers and Saugeen First Nation to bring forward a recommendation to both Council and the Township Police Service Board. Staff will be presenting a report to the Police Service Board at their May 18, 2021 Board meeting where staff foresee a recommendation being approved and passed on to Council for consideration. If no recommendation is approved, the report will be received for information at that meeting. Staff will then bring a report to the June 2, 2021 regular meeting of Council with recommendation from both staff and the Police Service Board, if any, for a final decision.

Further, it is important to note that although staff encourage Council to take into consideration the recommendation of the Township Police Service Board if received, the final decision of the Board composition lie solely with the Council of the Township of Southgate.

## **Financial Implications:**

As the composition of a joint Board has not yet been confirmed, financial impacts are unknown at this time. Depending on the number of seats dedicated to the Township, cost savings are anticipated considering Member's meeting compensation and mileage expenses.

## **Communications & Community Action Plan Impact:**

This report has been written and presented to Council to communicate accurate information to the public.

## **Concluding Comments:**

That Council receive Staff Report CL2021-012 as information.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dept. Head: Original Signed By

Lindsey Green, Clerk

CAO Approval: Original Signed By

Dave Milliner, CAO

Attachments: None