

April 30, 2021

COO

The Honourable Doug Downey, MPP, Attorney General 20 Bell Farm Road Barrie, ON L4M 6E4 (sent via email doug.downey@pc.ola.org)

Dear Minister Downey:

Re: NATIONAL 3-DIGIT SUICIDE AND CRISIS HOTLINE

On behalf of the Council of The Corporation of the City of Barrie, I wish to advise you that City Council adopted the following resolution at its meeting held on April 26, 2021:

21-G-098 NATIONAL THREE DIGIT SUICIDE AND CRISIS HOTLINE

WHEREAS the Federal government has passed a motion to adopt 988, a National three-digit suicide and crisis hotline; and

WHEREAS the motion calls for the federal government to consolidate all existing suicide crisis numbers into one three-digit hotline; and

WHEREAS the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic has increased the demand for suicide prevention services by 200%; and

WHEREAS existing suicide prevention hotlines require the user to remember a 10digit number and go through directories or be placed on hold; and

WHEREAS in 2022 the United States will have in place a national 988 crisis hotline; and

WHEREAS the City of Barrie recognized that it is a significant and important initiative to ensure critical barriers are removed to those in a crisis and seeking help;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED as follows:

- 1. That the City of Barrie endorses this 988 crisis line initiative.
- 2. That a letter demonstrating Barrie's support be sent to Todd Doherty, MP Caribou-Prince George, John Brassard, MP, Barrie-Innisfil, Doug Shipley, MP, Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte, the Honourable Andrea Khanjin, MPP, Barrie-Innisfil, the Honourable Doug Downey, MPP, Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte, the Honourable Patty Hajdu, Federal Minister of Health, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications (CRTC) and all municipalities in Ontario.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the undersigned, <u>wendy.cooke@barrie.ca</u> or (705) 739.4220, Ext. 4560.

Yours truly,

Wendy Cooke City Clerk/Director of Legislative and Court Services

WC/bt

CC:

- The Honourable Patty Hajdu, MP, Minister of Health
- John Brassard, MP, Barrie-Innisfil
- Doug Shipley, MP, Barrie-Springwater-Oro-Medonte
- Todd Doherty, MP, Caribou-Prince George
- Andrea Khanjin, MPP, Barrie-Innisfil
- The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications (CRTC)
- All municipalities in Ontario