

Legislative Services Michael de Rond 905-726-4771 clerks@aurora.ca

Town of Aurora 100 John West Way, Box 1000 Aurora, ON L4G 6J1

May 3, 2021

Delivered by email Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca

The Honourable Patty Hajdu Minister of Health House of Commons Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A6

Dear Minister:

Re: Town of Aurora Council Resolution of April 27, 2021

Re: Correspondence from Mayor Allan Thompson, Town of Caledon; Re: Support for 988, a 3-Digit Suicide and Crisis Prevention Hotline

Please be advised that this matter was considered by Council at its meeting held on April 27, 2021, and in this regard Council adopted the following resolution:

- 1. That the memorandum regarding Correspondence from Mayor Allan Thompson, Town of Caledon; Re: Support for 988, a 3-Digit Suicide and Crisis Prevention Hotline, be received; and
- 2. That Council support the Town of Caledon initiative regarding 988, a 3-Digit Suicide and Crisis Prevention Hotline; and
- 3. That a letter demonstrating Aurora Council's support be sent to Leona Alleslev, MP Aurora—Oak Ridges—Richmond Hill, Tony Van Bynen, MP Newmarket—Aurora, Michael Parsa, MPP Aurora—Oak Ridges—Richmond Hill, Hon. Christine Elliott, MPP Newmarket—Aurora, Hon. Patty Hajdu, Federal Minister of Health, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC), and all Ontario municipalities.

The above is for your consideration and any attention deemed necessary.

Town of Aurora Council Resolution – Support for 988, a 3-Digit Suicide and Crisis Prevention Hotline
May 3, 2021
Page 2 of 2

Yours sincerely,

Michael de Rond

Town Clerk

The Corporation of the Town of Aurora

MdR/lb

Attachment: Correspondence dated March 31, 2021, from Mayor Allan Thompson,

Town of Caledon; Re: Support for 988, a 3-Digit Suicide and Crisis

Prevention Hotline

Copy: Leona Alleslev, MP Aurora—Oak Ridges—Richmond Hill

Tony Van Bynen, MP Newmarket—Aurora

Michael Parsa, MPP Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill

Hon. Christine Elliott, MPP Newmarket—Aurora

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC)

All Ontario Municipalities

Attachment



Allan Thompson Mayor

Sent via E-Mail to: Patty.Hajdu@parl.gc.ca

March 31, 2021

The Honourable Patty Hajdu Federal Minister of Health House of Commons Ottawa. ON K1A 0A6

Dear Ms. Hajdu,

RE: SUPPORT FOR 988, A 3-DIGIT SUICIDE AND CRISIS PREVENTION HOTLINE

I am writing to advise that at the Town Council meeting held on March 30, 2021, Council adopted a resolution endorsing the 988 crisis line initiative to ensure critical barriers are removed to those in a crisis and seeking help.

The resolution reads as follows:

Whereas the Federal government has passed a motion to adopt 988, a National three-digit suicide and crisis hotline;

Whereas the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic has increased the demand for suicide prevention services by 200%;

Whereas existing suicide prevention hotlines require the user to remember a 10-digit number and go through directories or be placed on hold;

Whereas in 2022 the United States will have in place a national 988 crisis hotline;

Whereas the Town of Caledon recognized that it is a significant and important initiative to ensure critical barriers are removed to those in a crisis and seeking help;

Now therefore be it resolved that the Town of Caledon endorses this 988 crisis line initiative; and

That a letter demonstrating Caledon's support be sent to Kyle Seeback, MP, Dufferin-Caledon, the Honourable Sylvia Jones, MPP, Dufferin-Caledon, the Honourable Patty Hajdu, Federal Minister of Health, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications (CRTC) and all municipalities in Ontario.



Allan Thompson Mayor

Thank you for your attention to this very important matter. We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Allan Thompson

Mayor

Cc. Kyle Seeback, MP Dufferin-Caledon, Kyle.Seeback@parl.gc.ca

Honourable Sylvia Jones, MPP Dufferin-Caledon, sylvia.jones@pc.ola.org

lan Scott, Chairperson and Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC), iscott@telesat.com

All Ontario Municipalities