

The Corporation of the Township of Terrace Bay

P.O. Box 40, 1 Selkirk Avenue, Terrace Bay, ON, P0T 2W0 Phone: (807) 825-3315 Fax: (807) 825-9576

November 19, 2024

Honorable Anita Anand, President of the Treasury Board and Minister of Transportation House of Commons Ottawa, ON K1A 0A6

Via Email: Anita.anand@parl.gc.ca

Her Worship Mayor Olivia Chow Office of the Mayor City Hall, 2nd Floor 100 Queen St. W. Toronto, ON M5H 2N2

Via Email: mayor_chow@toronto.ca

Dear Minister Anand and Mayor Chow,

At the Township of Terrace Bay Regular Council Meeting held on Monday October 21, 2024 the following resolution of support was passed.

Re: NOMA Letter re Billy Bishop Airport Support

Resolution 293-2024

Moved By: Councillor St. Louis Seconded By: Councillor Adduono

WHEREAS Billy Bishop Airport serves more than 2 million passengers per year, making it the 9th-busiest airport in Canada,5th-busiest serving the US market, 3rd busiest airport in Ontario, and making it a critical component of the national and regional air transportation system; and

WHEREAS the airport provides daily connections to the North with service to Thunder Bay, Sault Ste. Marie, Timmins and Sudbury, and enables access to many other neighbouring communities;

and WHEREAS Billy Bishop Airport is a critical access point for Northern communities for economic opportunities, tourism, social connectivity and critical medical care located in downtown Toronto;

WHEREAS the airport operates under a Tripartite Agreement among the City of Toronto, Transport Canada and PortsToronto, and that agreement is set to expire in 2033; and

WHEREAS the airport is seeking to secure its long-term future through a process to modernize and extend the Tripartite Agreement to drive sustainable growth and enhanced access and connections for passengers and the communities it connects to;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Northwestern Ontario Municipal Association is seeking urgent action from the City of Toronto, PortsToronto and Transport Canada to commence a process and conclude it by the end of 2025 to modernize the current Tripartite Agreement and secure the future of Billy Bishop Airport.



The Corporation of the Township of Terrace Bay

P.O. Box 40, 1 Selkirk Avenue, Terrace Bay, ON, P0T 2W0 **Phone:** (807) 825-3315 **Fax:** (807) 825-9576

AND FURTHER BE IT RESOLVED THAT a copy of this motion be sent to Hon. Anita Anand - President of the Treasury Board and Minister of Transport, Mayor Olivia Chow – Toronto City, Hon. Soraya Martinez Ferrada - Minister of Tourism, Government of Canada, Hon. François-Philippe Champagne - Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry - Government of Canada, Hon. Arun Thangaraj - Deputy Minister of Transport Canada - Government of Canada, John D. Elvidge - City of Toronto – Clerk, Paul Johnson - City of Toronto - City Manager, Jag Sharma - City of Toronto - Deputy City Manager, RJ Steenstra - President and CEO - Ports Toronto, Sandra Pupatello – Chair of Board of Directors - Ports Toronto, Neil Pakey - President and CEO - Nieuport Aviation, Hon. Prabmeet Sarkaria - Minister of Transportation - Government of Ontario, Hon. Vic Fedeli - Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade - Government of Ontario, MP Patty Hajdu (Thunder Bay - Superior North), MP Marcus Powlowski – Thunder Bay-Rainy River, MP Eric Melillo – Kenora, MPP Greg Rickford, (Kenora – Rainy River), MPP Kevin Holland, (Thunder Bay - Atikokan), MPP Lise Vaugeois, (Thunder Bay - Superior North), and all NOMA member municipalities - CAOs and Clerks.

Sincerely,

J. Hall

Chief Administrative Officer/Clerk

CC:

Minister of Tourism – Soraya Martinez Ferrada <u>Soraya.martinezferrada@parl.gc.ca</u> Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry – Francois-Philippe Champagne <u>francois-philippe.champagne@parl.gc.ca</u>

Deputy Minister of Transport Canada – Arun Thangarai arun.thangarai@tc.gc.ca

City of Toronto Clerk -John D. Elvidge jelvidge@toronto.ca

City of Toronto Manager - Paul Johnson paul.r.johnson@toronto.ca

City of Toronto Deputy Manager – Jag Sharma

Ports Toronto President and CEO – RJ Steenstra and Ports Toronto Board of Directors Chair – Sandra Pupatello chair@portstoronto.com

Nieuport Aviation President and CEO - Neil Pakey neil@nieuport.com

Minister of Transportation – Prabmeet Sarkaria prabmeet.sakaria@pc.ola.org

Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade – Vic Fedeli vic.fedelico@pc.ola.org

MP Patty Hajdu patty.hajdu@parl.gc.ca

MP Marcus Powlowski marcus.powlowski@parl.gc.ca

MP Eric Melillo eric.melillo@parl.gc.ca

MPP Greg Rickford greg.rickford@pc.ola.org

MPP Kevin Holland kevin.holland@pc.ola.org

MPP Lise Vaugeois Ivaugeois-qp@ndp.on.ca

All Ontario Municipalities