

## The Corporation of the Municipality of Grey Highlands 206 Toronto Street South, Unit 1, Box 409 Markdale, ON NOC 1H0

Tel.: 519-986-1216

October 02, 2019

The Honourable Jeff Yurek Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks 5<sup>th</sup> Floor 777 Bay St. Toronto, ON M7A 2J3

Sent via email: jeff.yurek@pc.ola.org

To Minister Yurek,

Re: Grey Highlands Resolution 2019-603

Please be advised that the following resolution was passed at the October 02, 2019 meeting of the Council of the Municipality of Grey Highlands.

## 2019-603

## Cathy Little, Dane Nielsen

**Whereas** the Municipality of Grey Highlands is a member of the Grey Sauble Conservation Authority (GSCA), the Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority (NVCA) and the Saugeen Valley Conservation Authority (SVCA) and has a representative on each board of directors; and

Whereas each board of directors determines the policies, priorities and budget of their respective Conservation Authority (CA); and

**Whereas** each CA provides the Municipality of Grey Highlands with expert advice on the environmental impact of land use planning proposals and that the Municipality does not have staff with comparable expertise or experience; and

**Whereas** the CAs provide programs and services to the residents of Grey Highlands and other member municipalities that include recreation, education, water quality monitoring, reduction of vegetation loss and soil erosion, preservation of species at risk as well as protecting life and property through a variety of measures;

**Therefore** be it resolved that the Municipality of Grey Highlands supports continuation of the programs and services of the three CAs, both mandatory and non-mandatory, and that no programs or services of GSCA, NVCA and SVCA or of other CAs in Ontario be "wound down" at this time; and

**That** the Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks give clear direction as to what programs and services are considered mandatory and non-mandatory and how those programs will be funded in the future; and

**That** this resolution be forwarded to the Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks, Premier Doug Ford, MPP Bill Walker, the Association of Municipalities of Ontario, the Grey Sauble Conservation Authority, the Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority, the Saugeen Valley Conservation Authority, Conservation Ontario and all Ontario municipalities.

CARRIED.

If you require anything further, please contact this office.

Sincerely,

Rayline Martel

Raylene Martell Director of Legislative Services/Municipal Clerk Municipality of Grey Highlands

Cc:

Premier Doug Ford – premier@ontario.ca MPP Bill Walker – bill.walker@pc.ola.org Association of Municipalities of Ontario – amo@amo.on.ca Grey Sauble Conservation Authority – d.robinson@greysauble.on.ca Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority – hferguson@nvca.on.ca Saugeen Valley Conservation Authority – j.hagan@svca.on.ca Conservation Ontario – info@conservationontario.ca Ontario Municipalities