

Clerk's Department

595 9th Avenue East, Owen Sound Ontario N4K 3E3 519-372-0219 x 1223 / 1-800-567-GREY / Fax: 519-376-8998

March 16, 2020

The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau By email only: pm@pm.gc.ca

Dear Prime Minister:

Re: Grey County Council Resolution Supporting 100% Canadian Wines Excise Exemption

At the March 12, 2020 session of Grey County Committee of the Whole, resolution CW60-20 was passed by Grey County Council as follows:

Whereas, Canada's federal excise tax currently exempts 100% Canadian wines; and

Whereas, Australia has asked the World Trade Organization (WTO) to rule that this exemption is discriminatory; and

Whereas, if the WTO were to rule with Australia, Canadian wineries making 100% Canadian wine would no longer be exempt; and

Whereas, the present value of the excise exemption is \$39 million annually across Canada; and

Whereas, in the 13 years since this exemption was created, the production of 100% Canadian wine has increased by almost 30 million litres, representing an additional annual contribution of \$2.7 billion to the Canadian economy; and

Whereas, Grey County, specifically the municipalities of Meaford and Town of Blue Mountains, is home to a number of successful, award winning, boutique wineries;

Now Therefore, Be It Resolved That, the County of Grey supports the excise exemption for 100% Canadian wines; and

That, the County of Grey appeals to the Federal government to ensure the exemption remains in place by reaching an agreement

Grey County: Colour It Your Way

with Australia prior to the WTO ruling; and

That, this motion be forwarded to: The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada; The Honourable Andrew Scheer, Leader of the Official Opposition; Yves-François Blanchet, Leader of the Bloc Québécois; Jagmeet Singh, Leader of the New Democratic Party of Canada; Jo-Ann Roberts, Interim Leader of the Green Party of Canada; The Honourable Mary Ng, Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion, and International Trade; Alex Ruff, Member of Parliament for Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound; AMO Member Municipalities; FCM Member Municipalities; Vintner's Quality Alliance; Ontario Craft Wineries; Ontario Craft Cider Association; and

That this resolution be forwarded prior to County Council approval as per Section 25.6 of Procedural By-law 5003-18.

Yours truly

Heather Morrison

Clerk

(519) 372-0219 x 1227

heather.morrison@grey.ca www.grey.ca

/kn

CC.

The Honourable Andrew Scheer, Leader of the Official Opposition: Andrew.scheer@parl.gc.ca
Yves-François Blanchet, Leader of the Bloc Québécois: yves-francois.blachet@parl.gc.ca
Jagmeet Singh, Leader of the New Democratic Party of Canada: jagmeet.singh@parl.gc.ca
Jo-Ann Roberts, Interim Leader of the Green Party of Canada: leader@greenparty.ca
The Honourable Mary Ng, Minister of Small Business, Export Promotion, and International Trade: mary.ng@parl.gc.ca

Alex Ruff, Member of Parliament for Bruce-Grey-Owen Sound: alex.ruff@parl.gc.ca

AMO Member Municipalities

FCM Member Municipalities

Vintner's Quality Alliance: info@canadianvintners.com

Ontario Craft Wineries: info@winecouncilofontario.ca; info@ontariocraftwineries.ca

Ontario Craft Cider Association: info@ontariocraftcider.com